Ian Webster Scholarship

About the Scholarship

The Ian Webster Scholarship program recognises Professor Webster’s contributions to FARE over the last 10 years. The Scholarship also recognises the exceptional leadership Professor Webster continues to demonstrate in his work throughout the not-for-profit sector and in various advisory roles to government. The Scholarship aims to support the building of leadership and management capacity in the alcohol and other drugs (AOD) sector. The Scholarship will be awarded annually on a competitive basis, benefiting a recipient who has demonstrated a long-term commitment to the AOD sector, or a related sector, to further their leadership skills. The Ian Webster Scholarship will provide $10,000 towards a program of study, independently-led research or personal development opportunities for an emerging leader in the field.

Applications for 2013 were open from 1 July to 5.00pm AEST on 23 August 2013 and are currently being assessed.

About Professor Ian Webster AO

Professor Webster was the FARE Board’s inaugural Chair from 2001 until 2009 and continued as a board member until 2011. In 2012, Professor Webster was appointed as a Commissioner on the National Mental Health Commission by the Prime Minister. Currently a Consultant Physician in the Shoalhaven area, Emeritus Professor of Public Health and Community Medicine at the University of New South Wales, and Chief Patron of the Alcohol and other Drugs Council of Australia, Professor Webster’s previous research and publications have covered preventive medicine, medical practice, ageing, disability, homelessness, alcohol and other drug problems, suicide prevention and social issues in health. Professor Webster has chaired a number of Commonwealth and State Government inquiries and reviews in disability, health, mental health and alcohol and other drug problems.

Among his other honours, Professor Webster received the Prime Minister’s Award at the 2009 Drug and Alcohol Awards, became a Life Fellow with the Royal Australasian College of Physicians (2006), was named Life Governor of the Community Health and Tuberculosis Australia (2003), is a Life Member of the Alcohol and other Drugs Council of Australia (2002) and was appointed an Officer in the Order of Australia in 1995.

Download Scholarship Guidelines

Previous recipients

Share Button